It’s Personal


Through me and my husband’s fertility journey, I have often searched online for information about what is going on with other people and how it might apply to me. I found chat room discussions, and even personal blogs, where women shared REALLY personal information about their bodies, their husband’s sperm analysis, their bedroom routines, their addiction to home pregnancy tests, their financial strain, and on and on and on and on. And I thought to myself, “I am a pretty open person, but who wants to read a blog about a stranger’s menstrual cycle or polycystic ovaries?”  Then, of course, I realized that I did. I was reading, searching, laughing, yet still surfing.  Because it is really BIG trying to conceive – or not trying to conceive, or trying to maintain a healthy pregnancy, or trying to prepare for birth, or adjusting to breastfeeding, or post- pardem whatever-you-develop, and so on and so forth. Most of my friends are somewhere in that last sentence, and not only do I find these to be extraordinary moments in a gal’s life – but some of them are just shamelessly funny. I mean funny in a horrific, no pride, no-way-am-I-ever-telling this to anyone way. Only, here’s the thing:  Fertility is a private matter. Which does not bode well with me, because I am not a private person. I just have to talk about most of what I am going through – it makes the sweet parts sweeter, and the tough times a little bit easier to smile at. Sometimes, even laugh. So I am going to write it, and post it, and hope I do not regret it. Because there may talk about self injections, swollen boobs, embarrassing OBGYN stories, etc. But I also want to share the real parts of this – so that if you find this link on my FaceBook page and you are or have secretly been through any of this, you can read for amusement and camaraderie. Just as I have done for the past two years. So…more to come.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by floridafrecks on May 13, 2010 at 11:19 pm

    I bet you’ll find a nice community of support online Sarah. It will also be a great way for you journal your experience. Wishing you much luck on this and the pregnancy adventure. I’ll be sure to keep tuning in…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

