Stupid is as stupid does?


The past couple of days I have been losing my edge. Mentally, I am just a bit….dulled. I think it must be the hormones, because my mind just has not been connecting the dots between the filter and the mouth. Also, small things have begun to either irritate or confuse me. Point in case: What the Hell does “Stupid is as stupid does” mean? My brain breaks it down, a stupid act is a sign of stupidity. I just don’t know. I mean, I get what Forrest’s mama meant. Kind of. And only recently has this compounded my brain, because I think the shots are rendering me stupid.

I was talking to a virtual stranger the other day. No, wait. A total stranger. And in the midst of conversation it just flew from my mouth like a bat out of Hell….”yadda, yadda, yadda….because I am going through fertility treatment.” This poor stranger, who knew me for about 2 and half minutes, was stupefied. I was mortified. Why would I say something so personal like this to Aunt Pearls’ sister’s best friend’s niece? (You get my drift.) Things just pop out and I only have so much say as to when.

This lack of filtration may be viewed by others as stupidity, but I am actually starting to liken it to Mr. Gump. He was very wise, and always spoke the truth, right? So maybe women’s hormones are just the anti-bullshit serum. Maybe we only have small amounts of these in our day-to-day because our brilliance and inability to not say that thing that we know is true is there so that people can stand to be around us – maybe my filter defect is just that I do not have time for crap. Interesting. I love saying true things. It’s FUN! Oooh, I have the perfect clip. Sum it up for me, Ray!

So, I guess I started this post feeling stupid – and based on the fact that it is fairly non-linear and does not really make a point is proof. But it’s all good. Because that is exactly what my brain is like inside right now. And it’s kind of entertaining. It’s part of the journey.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Oneil on May 20, 2010 at 4:12 am

    Ah, Sarah. It’s all a part of your charm and what makes you who you are. I love your musings. Keep them coming!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

